About Us


It can take many hours and, in some cases, the considerable expense to plan, decorate and participate in the annual Holiday Afloat parade, on the part of Skippers, family & friends. And particularly so, to field a winning entry. Likewise, it takes literally 100’s of hours of planning, coordinating and behind-the-scenes activity to organize and stage the event. The tasks of choosing a theme, scheduling, pre-parade publicity and promotion, fundraising, securing necessary approvals, media communications and the like, fall to the Parade Planning Committee.

Comprised of volunteers from various organizations involved, the committee, operating on a very nearly year-round basis, somehow, “makes it happen” every year, in spite of budget shortfalls, impossible-to-meet deadlines, weather and/or unanticipated obstacles. A quick look at the list of organizations represented on the committee (see below)  quickly reveals the “grass-roots” identity of the event and underscores the true community-based nature that has led to 56 years of success in staging the L.A. Harbor Holiday Afloat parade.

Parade Planning Committee:

  • ​ Los Angeles Port Police Aldo Morales
  • Port of L.A Augie Bezmalinovich – Community Affairs Advocate
  • USCGA Robert McKoy
  • Wilmington Boat Owners Assoc. Donna Ethington
  • Cabrillo Way Marina Dianne Sandoval
  • Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club Pamela Botis
  • LB-LA Women’s Sailing Assoc. Trisha Jackson
  • Hurricane Gulch Yacht Club George Miller
  • California Yacht Marina – Cabrillo Marina Henry Rivas – Committee Chair
  • Wilmington Lion’s Club Mary Gutierrez
  • LB Singles Yacht Club 
  • Los Angeles Yacht Club
  • San Pedro Yacht Club